MINUTES

Nebraska Synod Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Synod Council Minutes June 2, 2023

Approved

Voting Members present:

Tanny Akerson	Pr. Mariam Blair	Sharon Bohling	Pr. Sandra Braasch
Fred Bredehoeft	Pr. Liz Dieseth Pearl	Gwen Edwards	Dan Friedlund
Nancy Hinrichs	Blaine Jelden	Bp. Scott Johnson	Elysia McGill
Pr. Nathan Metzger	Gary Overfield	Pr. Travis Panning	Pr. Steven Peeler
Nathan Peterson	Sarah Purcell	R LaDene Rutt	Judy Stahlecker
Anna Woods	Jim Yankech		

Staff and Organizational Presidents present:

Also Present (briefly for a presentations):

David Pinkston

Absent:

Pr. Cara Jensen	Ms. Laurel Berry	Ms. Amy Buch	Pr. Greg Berger
Stephanie Lusienski	Pr. Kathy Montira	Joel Pedersen	Dn. Sunni Richardson
Dn. Timothy Siburg	Morgan Tranmer	Pr. Kristen Van Stee	Pr. Heidi Wallace

Vice President Elysia McGill called the meeting to order at 8:36 a.m.

The roll was called and a quorum was present.

MOVED and SECONDED to approve the agenda as presented and revised. APPROVED.

MOVED and SECONDED to approve the minutes of March 18, 2023, as presented. APPROVED.

David Pinkston, Director of Seeking the Spirit Within, led us in opening prayer and a group discussion asking, "What do we appreciate by being on the Synod Council."

Bishop's Report: A written report was available.

SC23.06.14: ADDITIONS TO BISHOP'S REPORT

RECOMMENDED: That the following rostered persons be approved for On Leave From Call

status for one year:

Name Date

Richard Sheridan 8/1/19 (study leave-6 years), 2020 2nd yr, 2021 3rd yr,

2022 4th yr, 2023 5th year

RECOMMENDED: That the following rostered person's On Leave From Call status (3 years) be

approved as On Leave From Call-Family Leave (6 years):

Rob Garton 2/15/21, 2022 2nd yr, 2023 3rd yr

RECOMMENDED: That the following rostered persons be approved for transfer to the retired

roster:

David deFreese 4/1/2023 Peggy Hall 4/1/2023 Glenda Pearson 5/1/1023

RECOMMENDED: That a synod council call be extended to the following rostered persons:

Pr. Amanda (Day) Hefner, to serve as transitional/interim minister, three-

year renewable effective June 19, 2023

MOVED – SECONDED Discussion Held APPROVED

SC23.06.15: EN BLOC 1. CONGREGATIONS:

2. COMMITTEES:

RECOMMENDED: That the following appointments to the PMA Steering Committee be

affirmed, effective May 2023:

Kathy Becker, three-year term Bill Huelle, three-year term

Jim Kvasnicka, student representative, one-year term

Julie Schmidt, three-year term

RECOMMENDED: That the following committee members be ratified by the Synod

Council:

Resolutions, Reference & Counsel Committee

Steve Meysing, North Platte

RECOMMENDED: To approve the following as chars of synod committees:

Audit Committee – Rob King

Budget & Finance Committee – Keven Karas Candidacy Committee – Pr. Kathy Gerking

PMA Steering Committee – Maurine Roller, PMA

3. AGENCIES & INSTITUTIONS:

RECOMMENDED:

4. SYNOD ASSEMBLY:

RECOMMENDED: To approve June 1 - 2, 2024, as the scheduled dates for the 2024

Synod Assembly.

MOVED – SECONDED Discussion Held APPROVED

Staff Reports: Written reports were available.

Reports of Officers and Organizations

Vice President's Report: VP McGill shared she has been meeting online with other Synod Vice Presidents, they will gather in person March 2024.

Secretary's Report: Written report available in packet. Secretary Edwards reported nothing to add.

Treasurer's Report: Written report begins on page 14. Mission Share has been declining. Salaries lower due to Bishop and staff resizing staff, including one less FTE and not replacing the position. **Nebraska Synod Women's Organization:** Elysia McGill reported all seven Spring Gatherings were held this year. Their upcoming Biennial Convention and Gathering is in the planning stages. It will be held October 6-8 at Carol Joy Holling Conference and Retreat Center, the theme is "Be Still," Psalm 46:10a NIV.

SC23.06.16 RECOMMENDED: That the following individuals be appointed as initial members of the 2024 Synod Assembly Planning Team:

- Ric Miller, Morning Star, Omaha
- · Pr. Jan Peterson, Augustana, Omaha
- Jon Fredricks, St. Michael, Omaha
- Elizabeth Florian-Lutheran Church of the Good Shepherd, Hastings
- Morgan Tranmer, Nebraska Synod staff
- Deacon Timothy Siburg, Nebraska Synod staff

SPONSOR: Bishop Scott Johnson MOVED – SECONDED – APPROVED

SC23.06.17 RECOMMENDED: That the recommendation of the PMA Steering Committee that Wendy Wyatt (Spirit of Grace Lutheran Church, Holdrege) be certified as a Parish Ministry Associate be approved.

SPONSOR: Bishop Scott Johnson, on behalf of the PMA Steering Committee

MOVED – SECONDED Discussion Held APPROVED

SC23.06.18 RECOMMENDED: To authorize changes in the authorized officers/agents on the Synod's Bridges Investment Management Accounts from Brian Maas, Diane Harpster and Dan Friedlund to Timothy Siburg, Morgan Tranmer and Dan Friedlund. Treasurer Dan Friedlund will continue as the control person on the Accounts.

SPONSOR: Dan Friedlund, Treasurer

MOVED – SECONDED Discussion Held APPROVED

SC23.06.19 RECOMMENDED: to extend Synod Council call to Rev. Kathy Montira to serve as Assistant to the Bishop.

SPONSOR: Bishop Scott Alan Johnson

MOVED – SECONDED Discussion Held APPROVED

SC23.06.20 RECOMMENDED: To form an Advisory Task Force to study the sacramental needs and issues of congregations not currently served by Ministry of Word and Sacrament.

SPONSOR: Executive Committee of the Nebraska Synod Council

Discussion Held APPROVED

SC23.06.21 RECOMMENDED: To elected Sharon Garvin and Rev. Don Hunzeker to a second four-year term on the Budget and Finance Committee, and Martin Malley to a second three-year term on the Audit Committee.

SPONSOR: Executive Committee of the Nebraska Synod Council APPROVED

Old Business:

Secretary Edwards shared three of the four vacancies on the Synod Council have been filled. The fourth person has been asked and we are pending response.

New Business:

Open Comments/Feedback:

Discussion held regarding yesterday's "Inclusivity Workshop."

As there was no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:08 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Gwen Edwards Secretary