MINUTES

Nebraska Synod Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Synod Council Minutes August 10, 2024

Approved

Voting Members present:

Tanny Akerson	Sharon Bohling	Pr. Sandra Braasch	Fred Bredehoeft
Gwen Edwards	Dan Friedlund	Pr. Carolann Hopcke	Blaine Jelden
Bp. Scott Johnson	Kathy McAreavey	Elysia McGill	Wendy Olson
Pr. Travis Panning	Pr. Steven Peeler	Nathan Peterson	Pr. Brenda Pfeifly
Sarah Purcell	Caleb Ruch	Irvin Schleufer	Mike Unverferth
Pr. Linda Walz	James Yankech		

Staff and Organizational Presidents present:

Gretchen Ahrens	Pr. Greg Berger	Amy Buch	Michelle Herrick
-----------------	-----------------	----------	------------------

Stephanie Lusienski Pr. Heidi Wallace Amy Woods

Absent:

Pr. Mariam Blair Judy Stahlecker Dn. Timothy Siburg

Vice President Elysia McGill called the meeting to order at 1:01 p.m.

The roll was called and a quorum was present.

MOVED and SECONDED to approve the minutes of March 16, 2024, as presented. APPROVED.

Tanny Akerson opened the meeting with prayer.

Bishop's Report: A written report was available.

SC24.08.16: ADDITIONS TO BISHOP'S REPORT

RECOMMENDED: That the following persons be granted On Leave From Call Status:

Deacon Susan (Sunni Richardson) 9/1/24

Actions of Executive Committee on June 23, 2024

RECOMMENDED: That the following persons be granted On Leave From Call Status:

Pastor Darrell Anderson 6/1/24

RECOMMENDED: That the following person's final year of Study Leave be approved:

Pastor Rich Sheridan

RECOMMENDED: To extend a Synod Council Call to Rev. Ernesto Medina to serve Interim

ministry

MOVED - SECONDED - APPROVED

SC24.08.17: EN BLOC1. CONGREGATIONS:

2. COMMITTEES:

RECOMMENDED: To approve the following dates for the 2025 Synod Council meeting

calendar:

March 22, 2025 Synod Office with ZOOM option

May 20, 2025 Kearney

August 22-23, 2025 Carol Joy Holling (Retreat)

November 15, 2025 Online via Zoom

RECOMMENDED: To appoint Dan Friedlund Treasurer

RECOMMENDED: To approve the following as chairs of synod committees:

Audit Committee – Scott Koehn

Budget & Finance Committee – Adam Akerson Candidacy Committee – Pr. Kathy Gerking

PMA Steering Committee - Kathy Becker & Julie Schmidt

3. AGENCIES & INSTITUTIONS:

RECOMMENDED: The Nebraska Lutheran Campus Ministries (NeCLM) Board of

Directors has contracted Pr. Steven Neal to serve as Pastor for Campus Lutheran, University of Nebraska in Kearney effective

September 1, 2024.

RECOMMENDED: To extend a Synod Council Call to Rev. Joyce Miller to serve as Pastor

of Immanuel Village and Courtyard in Omaha.

2025 Synod Council meeting calendar was pulled from Enbloc.

Remaining Items: MOVED - SECONDED - APPROVED

Removed Item: Discussion held

SC24.08.18: The 2025 Synod Council meeting calendar set as:

March 22, 2025 Synod Office with ZOOM option

May 20, 2025 Kearney

August 8-9, 2025 Location TBD (Retreat)

November 15, 2025 Online via Zoom

MOVED - SECONDED - APPROVED

Reports of Officers and Organizations

Vice President's Report:

Secretary's Report: The roster is updated in the packet. The Constitution Review Team will begin their work and bring a report to the November meeting.

Treasurer's Report: Written report available and reviewed. Operations are looking positive in both Mission Share and expenses. The treasurers report will be filed.

Nebraska Synod Women's Organization: Elysia McGill reported Spring Gatherings were successful, attendance good, with new ladies attending. They held a summer board meeting in Lincoln. They are looking forward to their Autumn Renewal in October with David Pinkston as the main speaker and Bishop Scott Johnson leading the Bible study.

Staff Reports: Written reports were available the packet.

SC24.08.19 RECOMMENDED: That the following individuals be appointed as the initial members of the 2025 Assembly Planning Team:

- Gretchen Ahrens, Nebraska Synod Staff
- Amy Buch, Nebraska Synod Staff
- PMA Libby Florian,
- Jon Fredericks, St. Michael, Omaha
- Pastor Jon Gathje, First, Omaha
- Michele Herrick, Nebraska Synod Staff
- Blaine Jelden, Bethany, Axtell
- Bishop Scott Johnson, Nebraska Synod Staff
- Stephanie Lusienski, Nebraska Synod Staff
- PMA Ric Miller, Morning Star, Omaha
- Pastor Jan Peterson, Augustana, Omaha
- Kate Reynolds, Family of Christ, Kearney
- Deacon Timothy Siburg, Nebraska Synod Staff
- Amy Woods, Nebraska Synod Staff

SPONSOR: Bishop Scott Alan Johnson

MOVED – SECONDED Discussion Held APPROVED

SC24.08.20 RECOMMENDED: That the recommendation of the PMA Steering Committee that Matt Schur be certified as a Parish Ministry Associate be approved.

SPONSOR: Bishop Scott Alan Johnson on behalf of the PMA Steering Committee MOVED – SECONDED – APPROVED

SC24.08.21 RECOMMENDED: To release Grace Lutheran Church of Walton, Nebraska, from the roster of congregations of the Nebraska Synod and the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

SPONSOR: Gwen Edwards, Synod Council Secretary

MOVED with Regret – SECONDED Discussion Held APPROVED

SC24.08.22 RECOMMENDED: To accept the Nebraska Synod ELCA audit report and financial statements from Eide Bailly for the FY2023 (year ended January 31, 2024).
 SPONSOR: Dan Friedlund on behalf of the Audit and Budget & Finance Committees
 SECONDED Discussion Held/Treasurer's Remarks APPROVED

SC24.08.23 RECOMMENDED: To receive and endorse "Guidelines for Sacramental Practices in a Time of Pastoral Transition or Vacancy"

SPONSOR: Bishop Scott Alan Johnson on behalf of the Sacramental Practices Task Force

MOVED – SECONDED Received and Endorse with suggested changes APPROVED

Old Business:

None

New Business:

SC24.08.24: That the 2024 Synod Assembly minutes be approved as printed and previously approved per the constitution S7.41.12 MOVED – SECONDED – APPROVED

Open Comments/Feedback

Discussion was held regarding Synod Assembly dates change.

Staff members were excused, and an Executive Session was started at 2:55 p.m. Bishop Scott Johnson ended the Executive Session at 3:08 p.m.

Pr. Linda Walz closed the meeting in prayer.

As there was no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Gwen Edwards Secretary