Alumni Day at Lenoir-Rhyne University

Thursday, April 23, 2020
Columbia, SC

The Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary of Lenoir-Rhyne University will celebrate alumni and welcome friends of the seminary to Alumni Day Thursday, April 23.

The event is open to all and is an opportunity to learn about the seminary and hear from a variety of preachers and teachers. Registration and coffee hour begins at 8:30 a.m. with a campus tour and recording oral histories of alumni. New this year, the oral histories seek to capture the stories of alumni from their time as students at LTSS.

The day features these events:
10 a.m., Stavros Hall – The Yost Lecture will be presented by Bishop Susan Briner*, Southwestern Texas Synod of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. This annual lecture honors the Rev. Dr. John L. Yost, Jr. a long-time pastor of Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, Hickory, North Carolina.

11:30 a.m., Christ Chapel – A festival eucharist and worship service features the Rev. Dr. Mary Hinkle Shore*, LTSS rector and dean, as presiding minister. The Rev. Jennifer Shimota*, coordinator of seminary enrollment, will preach. During the service, those alumni who died during the past year will be remembered with a moment of silence and prayer.

12:45 p.m., Reinartz Hall – The luncheon includes remarks from Dr. Fred Whitt*, university president, and Shore will offer a greeting from the seminary. In addition, various classes will be recognized with special honors, and the prestigious John Benjamin Bedenbaugh Alumni Award for Distinguished Pastoral Leadership will be announced. The annual award is in recognition of Bedenbaugh’s ministry as a pastoral shepherd who encouraged bold congregational witness to the Great Commission and offered exemplary service to the church. Instituted in 1993 by the Southern Seminary Alumni Association, this award commemorates and honors Bedenbaugh’s life. For 40 years, “Dr. B” contributed tirelessly his extraordinary gifts to the formation of women and men for Christian discipleship and ministry in Christ’s Church. The award recipient is an alumna or alumnus of the Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary and is serving in or retired from parish ministry. For several years, a unique stole of the four evangelists has been given to each recipient. Each year’s recipient is kept confidential until the announcement at the luncheon.

The event concludes with a period of fellowship to allow alumni to renew friendships and share events in their lives. Reply online at by Wednesday, April 8, 2020.